Broward – Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT)

Last updated on February 10th, 2022 at 04:21 pm

Contact Van Schoen at van.schoen@tamarac.org

Broward – Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT)

CERT is a community-based organization of residents who learn how to take emergency response actions in safe ways until the professional emergency responders can respond.  These citizens learn how to work in a coordinated manner caring for those citizens within their community affected by a disaster. Broward Communities have trained over 3000 CERT’s throughout Broward County in disaster preparedness, disaster medical services, fire suppression, light search and rescue, disaster communications, disaster psychology and terrorism. The program is part of the Federal Emergency Management Association (FEMA) initiative to train residents for emergencies.

Most people are not prepared to deal with emergencies. Whether due to disaster or encountered in everyday life, they may experience problems. After a major emergency, residents will need to assist their neighbor. Unfortunately, without properly training residents can expose themselves to potential injury and even death.

In the aftermath of a major disaster such as a hurricane, emergency crews are quickly overwhelmed, causing delays of hours or even days. For these reasons, Communities throughout Broward County offer the CERT training courses.

Broward County CERT Program Coordinator Information can be found in the below table.

In the event you do not receive a reply please reach out to van.schoen@tamarac.org, include the City you reside in.

CERT Meetings are held virtually until further notice on the 4th Tuesday of every month at 2 P.M.

Tamarac CERT
Van Schoen,
Program Manager
Tamarac Fire Rescue
Van.schoen@Tamarac.org
Tamarac CERT

FCABC Chair 2022
Cooper City CERT
Donna Maksymowich-Waskiewicz coopercitycert@bellsouth.net
FB- Cooper City

 

Coral Springs/Parkland CERT
Joe Chalom Program Manager
Coral Springs/Parkland Fire Department jchalom@coralsprings.org
www.coralspringscert.org
Coconut Creek CERT
Stevenson Jean-Louis
Coconut Creek Fire Rescue sjeanlouis@coconutcreek.net  
Davie CERT
Heath Meyer, Battalion Chief
Davie Fire Rescue
hmeyer@davie-fl.gov
http://daviecert.org/
Deerfield Beach CERT
Carol Sjursen
CSjursen@bellsouth.net
Deerfield Beach CERT  
Ft. Lauderdale CERT
Shane Simcox
Ft. Lauderdale Fire Rescue ssimcox@fortlauderdale.gov
 
Margate CERT
Fire Chief Lorenzo
Margate Fire Department
rlorenzo@margatefl.com Margate CERT
Miramar CERT
Romeo Lavarias
Miramar Fire Rescue
rblavarias@miramarfd.org
 
Pembroke Pines CERT Sargent James Henry
Pembroke Pines Police
jhenry@ppines.com
PPines.CERT  
Plantation CERT
Deputy Chief Joel Gordon
Plantation Fire Department
jgordon@psd.plantation.org
Plantation CERT  
Sunrise CERT
Miguel Ascasruntz
Sunrise Fire Rescue
mascarrunz@sunrisefl.gov  
Hollywood CERT
Ronald Hady
Rugged1RH@Yahoo.com  


Weston CERT
Chief Bill Fucci
Broward Sheriff Fire Rescue William_Fucci@sheriff.org
FB – Weston CERT  
Pompano Beach CERT
Krystal Aaron
Pompano Beach Fire Rescue
Krystal.Aaron@copbfl.com
Pompano Beach CERT