2020 FCABC Award Recipients

During a virtual ceremony this morning, many members of various fire rescue agencies in Broward were honored for their service to the region. These awards showcased the amazing work and dedication that the men and women in our county perform each and every day.


Dave Foster Paramedic of the Year:

Paul Phillips – Battalion Chief, Margate

EMT of the Year:

Daniel Mollinedo – Firefighter, Fort Lauderdale

Elizabeth Jordan Educator of the Year:

Carlos Pumariega – Captain, Margate

Ed Murray Public Educator of the Year:

Sheniqua Johnson – Fire Inspector, Lauderhill

Laura Lille – Fire Inspector, Lauderhill

Mike Murphy Innovator of the Year:

Ryan Gentilcore – Captain, Fort Lauderdale

Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS

James Roach, MD – Broward County Sherriff Office

The Ralph A Marrinson EMS Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Farrell, MD

Joe Jones

The Chief Donald DiPetrillo Paramedic Lifetime Achievement Award

Jorge Gonzalez – Assistant Fire Chief, Davie

Gregory Holness – Fire Chief, BSO

Ken Kronheim – Retired Chief BSO

Tory Fatjo – Retired Battalion Chief, BSO

John Jurgle – Retired Fire Chief, Pompano Beach

Private EMS Provider Service Award

Pedro Escobar

Willie Rodriguez


Fire Crew of the Year

Crew #1:

Joel Moniz – Lieutenant, Lauderhill

Michael Lombardi – Driver Engineer, Lauderhill

Crew #2:

Bill McGrath – Battalion Chief, North Lauderdale

Esnell Morales – Captain, North Lauderdale

Matt Hurt – Lieutenant, North Lauderdale

Napoleon Outlaw – Driver Engineer, North Lauderdale

Johnnie Powell – Firefighter, North Lauderdale

Nick Ruesga – Firefighter, North Lauderdale

Shawn Fleming – Firefighter, North Lauderdale

Firefighter of the Year

Danilo Goyochea – Fire Inspector, BSO Fire

Fire Officer of the Year

Ralph Droz – Captain, Tamarac

Kevin O’Connell – Lieutenant, Coral Springs-Parkland

Chief Officer of the Year

Donald Todd – Fire Chief, Plantation

Christopher Bator – Battalion Chief, Coral Springs-Parkland


Jeff Levy – Assistant Fire Chief, Lauderhill


• Donald DiPetrillo – Fire Chief, Seminole Tribe

• Kevin Wilson – Fire Marshal, Margate–Coconut Creek

• Kevin Mehaffey – Driver Engineer, Pembroke Pines

Retired Members – In Memoriam Recognition

Coral Springs-Parkland

• Jerry Gross, Lieutenant

Fort Lauderdale

• James H. Brown

• John “Jack” Cann Jr.

• Donald DiPetrillo

• Charles Knapp

• Herbie Dick Blabon

• Albert W. LeMay

• Dennis Sheehan Sr.


• Dan Fhister, DE

• Art Medows, DE

• Bill Kay, Inspector

• John Shelton, Lieutenant

Last updated on March 3rd, 2022 at 06:57 pm