IAFC Safety, Health & Survival Section – 2020 Awards Winner: Julie Downey, Davie Fire Chief

The International Association of Fire Chiefs’ Safety, Health & Survival Section has announced its 2020 awards winners. The section awards recognize both organizations and individuals who have made a significant contribution to health and safety within their own organizations and the fire service as a whole.

Every year, winners are selected by a committee appointed by the Safety, Health & Survival Section. The awards will be presented during the section’s Virtual Training Day, to be held on September 25.

“This year’s nominees clearly demonstrate that the worst of times brings out the best in us,” said Lieutenant Steve Tullis, chairman of the Awards Selection Committee. “Even in the face of great adversity, people in our profession are committed to protecting our people at every level. We are proud to highlight the work that is being done across the county.”

Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award, Sponsored by Provident Insurance
Julie Downey, Fire Chief of Davie Fire and Rescue, Davie, FL

Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award, Sponsored by VFIS
Steve Hoffman, Director of Fire and Rescue Services, Farmington, CT

Chief Sandy Davis Safety Officer of the Year, Cosponsored by MSA and FDSOA
David Picone, Battalion Chief San Diego Fire & Rescue, San Diego, CA

Last updated on October 20th, 2020 at 03:15 pm